Shimla, Dec 8

Eight BJP sitting ministers and three senior congress leaders who were in race for CM have been defeated in the neck on neck contest in Himachal Pradesh assembly polls. As per the results currently Congress is winning 40 seats and are set to form the government, BJP will now have to play opposition with 25 seats, and 3 independents are also coming in the fray this time. Also the lone leftist MLA has also lost the contest at Theog.

Among sitting ministers of BJP who lost are Virender Kanwar from Una district, Rajeev Saijal (Kasauli), Suresh Bhardwaj (Kasumpti), Gobind Thakur (Manali), Sarveen Chaudhary (Shahpur) and Rajinder Garg (Ghumarwin). Alongwith former minister and Vidhan Sabha speakers Rajeev Bindal at Nahan too lost in a surprise contest.

Talking of the Congress party, amongst those being speculated as Chief Minister candidates, Ramlal Thakur lost. Naina Devi in Bilaspur noted Thakur trailing at 28733 votes against his rival Randhir Sharma who got 28878 votes.

Also Kaul Singh lost by a close margin at Drang. Here senior Congress candidate Kaul Singh is losing with 35843 votes versus his own prodigy and rival Puran Chand (BJP) at 34856 votes.

Also Asha Kumar lost Dalhousie seat. Amongst senior Congress leaders Prakash Choudhary lost at Balh in Mandi. Here BJP almost clean swept the district with 9 out 10 seats.

Currently Congress is declared winner at 40 seats, with BJP victorious on 24 and one Chopal seat result is awaited.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here