Manhunt Continues for Winning Candidates as Shimla MC Poll Nominations Remain Sparse

Shimla, April 14

Perhaps, the Manhunt continues for Shimla Municipal Corporation (MC) Poll Candidates as no nominations were filed on the first day of the filling process on Thursday, confirmed a State Election Commission official.

Also read:
Challenging political mathematics: The CPI(M)’s impact on SMC elections
Both the ruling Congress and opposition parties, BJP and CPM, are still grappling with the search for winning candidates to put in the fray for the ongoing Shimla MC poll. The BJP had announced 24 candidates on Wednesday and five more on Thursday. A party spokesperson stated that 29 candidates had been shortlisted, and the remaining five are yet to be announced. The ruling Congress has also only declared 16 out of 18 candidates so far.
The five candidates announced by the BJP are Ritu Koundal from Tutikandi, Sunanda Karol from Rambazar, Rajan Agarwal from Jakhu, Kusum Thakur from Panthaghati, and Brij Sood from Kalnog.

In 2017, the BJP had formed the first Shimla MC government and had put forward 20 women candidates compared to the total 18 reserved wards for women.
The CPIM has only declared four candidates so far. Today was the first day of filling nominations, but no candidate turned up to file their papers. Two more days are left for filing nominations on April 17 and 18. Polling will be held on May 2, and the counting of votes and results will be declared on May 4.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here