Shimla, Dec 10
Reports arriving that the Congress high command has approved the name of Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu as the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh. Also it was decided that former Leader of opposition Mukesh Agnihotri shall be the Deputy Chief Minister.
Earlier on Friday, the newly elected Congress legislative party had asked party high command to elect Congress legislative party leader or Chief minister candidate. All legislators had passed a resolution unanimously empowering AICC high command to elect new CLP leader or Chief minister on their behalf.
This meeting was attended by Congress central observers Chhatisgarh Chief minister Bhupesh Bhagel, Haryana former CM Bhupinder Hooda, himself, co-incharge Gurukirat Singh Kotli, Sanjay Dutt, Tajinder Pal Bitu, party state president Pratibha Singh, party campaign committee in-charge Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu and leader of Opposition in last Vidhan Sabha Mukesh Agnihotri.
Thereafter today, after number of meetings and deliberations with high command and elected legislature, it was decided that another CLP meeting at the Vidhan Sabha be convened, and then the announcement has been formally done.
Leading the Council of Ministers in the 14th legislative assembly, Sukhu would the seventh person to become the Chief Minister of the State. His predecessors were Late Virbhadra Singh, Thakur Ramlal, Dr Y.S.Parmar, Shanta Kumar, Prem Kumar Dhumal and Jai Ram Thakur.

From humble beginning to CM post; Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu’s journey

The journey of the newly elected Chief Minister and Himachal Pradesh Congress Vidhayak Dal leader Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu started from a humble beginning.  Similar to the case of former CM Jai Ram Thakur, the Congressman too, is a commoner taking up the top post of the State. Like Thakur the son of a ‘masion’, Sukhu is known as son of HRTC bus driver.
He was born on March 27, 1964 from Rasil Singh at Nadaun area of Hamirpur district. He did his M.A and LLB from Himachal Pradesh University. Made his debut in electoral from students politics through NSUI as was elected SCA president at Government Degree College Sanjauli from 1981 to 1985. Later became State president of NSUI (1989-1995). Member of AICC in 1998.
Elected as Shimla Municipal Corporation councillor from 1988 to 1998 twice from Chhota Shimla ward.  Hereafter been elected four times for State assembly since 2003 to 07, 2012-2017 and 2017-2022 and 2022 for present term.
He belongs to village Bhavarna of Nadaun in Hamipur district. Though, in student politics he could not make progress but in the parent organisation always managed to remain a political detractor of six Time Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh.
Worked as a close-aide of former Union Telecommunication Minister Pandit Sukh Ram and supported the claim for post of Chief Minister from Mandi district. Sukhu was elevated to party State presidency in 2012 and remained in office for two and half terms till 2018.
He succeeded in controlling the decreasing graph of party leadership by uniting all old Congressman. Holds a clean image in public life since student politics and is known for high morality,  upright nature and could speak the truth. No other HPCC chief other than Sukhu could openly rebel against six time Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh or dare to go head on against the decisions of Congress mascot including like Satmahajan, Vipalv Thakur, Vidhya Stokes, Kuldeep Kumar, Kaul Singh Thakur and Kuldeep Rathore.
The four time MLA is known for organisation skills as posses credentials of being chief of many party fronts right from NSUI to HPCC. He lost one assembly election in 2007-2012  as undercutting from the rival party camps spell doom to his political career.
Sukhu succeeded to get the maximum number of tickets in the 2022 elections and reportedly 22 out of total 40 supported his candidature for the CM post in the party.
Sukhu’s rare calibre and deep penetration in the Congress party succeeded his political journey  step by step to achieve this rare high political profile. Sukhu’s experience in the public life, perhaps, has attributed to him coming parallel to Congress and BJP stalwarts like Prem Kumar Dhumal, Vidhya Stokes, Asha Kumari, Kaul Singh Thakur, Ram Lal Thakur and Shanta Kumar. He enjoyed high rapport in AICC for the longest stint in the HPCC, Youth Congress and NSUI.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here