IIT Mandi and IISc Bangalore develop global climate change vulnerability map

Photo used for indicative purpose only

Researchers at IIT Guwahati, IIT Mandi and IISc Bengaluru have developed a global climate change vulnerability map for twelve Himalayan states that may facilitate resource allocation to deal with these vulnerabilities.

The exercise is exclusive as a result for the first time all the twelve Indian Himalayan Region (IHR) States have used a standard framework leading to the assembly of comparable state level and at intervals state, district level vulnerability maps, the team aforesaid in a very statement.

The need for such an exercise is due to the fact that IHR is one of the most sensitive regions to climate change and variability, said the project investigators. Most components of the region underwent vital long changes in frequencies and intensity of maximum temperature and rain events over the last decades, they said.

Such comparable vulnerability assessments are helpful for officers, implementers, call manufacturers, funding agencies and development specialists, to own a standard understanding on vulnerability.

The maps will enable them to assess which states in IHR are more vulnerable, what has made them vulnerable and how the government might address these vulnerabilities.

“Based on the common methodology, we have a tendency to came up with a state level vulnerability assessment for the IHR and unionized coaching workshops for the state level officers to hold out district level assessments in all 12 IHR states,” the investigators of the project aforesaid.

“Such a coordinated approach and enhanced cooperation between states in the IHR and the departments within the states are assumed to improve resilience to climate change because several adaptation interventions will require coordinated efforts across administrative boundaries,” they said in a statement.

The 12 states include Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and the hilly districts of West Bengal, and Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Jammu and Kashmir.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here