Congress strengthens Shimla MC dominance with five government nominees

Shimla, May 24

In a move that further solidifies its grip on power, the Congress party has appointed five government nominees to the Shimla Municipal Corporation (MC), strengthening its majority in the civic body. Following their landslide victory in the May 4 elections, where they secured a two-thirds majority, the Congress party now boasts a total of 29 members in the MC.

Also read: Shimla MC Poll results: Cong wins 24, BJP 9, CPI(M) 1`

The Secretary of Urban Development issued a notification announcing the appointment of Ashwani Kumar Sood, Gopal Sharma, Vinod Kumar Bhatia, Gitanjali Bhagra, and Raj Kumar Sharma as government nominees to the Shimla MC.
While the newly appointed members will not have voting rights during the division of votes, they will actively participate in the house meetings and general assembly sessions of the Shimla MC.
The Congress party emerged triumphant with 24 seats out of the 34-member house, leaving the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with nine seats and the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M)) with a lone seat.
The first General House meeting of the newly constituted Shimla MC is likely scheduled for May 28. Monthly meetings will subsequently take place to facilitate discussions and the passing of resolutions on various matters.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here