Shimla, August 26
IG intelligence and  2003 batch IPS officer of Himachal Pradesh cadre Rameshwar Singh Thakur took oath as the new chairman of Himachal Pradesh Public Service Commission replacing Ajay Kumar who retired early this month.
Himachal Pradesh Governor Rajinder Vishavnath Arlekar administered oath of office and secrecy alongwith Rameshwar Thakur to also other three new members of state public Commission at Rajbhavan on Friday.
Chief minister Jai Ram Thakur, former speaker of Himachal Pradesh Vidhan Sabha Rajiv Bindal , chief secretary R D Dhiman and number of other distinguished guests and family members of new Chairman and member along with media persons attended the ceremony.
Rachana Gupta who is senior most members of Commission not attended oath taking ceremony. She was also appointed as HPPSC chairperson on August 17, 2022 but all of sudden, a new government notification was issued  on August 25 appointing IPS officer  Rameshwar Singh Thakur  as the new chairman of Himachal Pradesh Public Service Commission.
Along with Thakur three members were also administered oath for commission today including IAS (reted) Rakesh Sharma, Col. Rajesh Kumar Sharma( Retd) and Dr Nain Singha .
Talking to media person after the oath Thakur said that he was given an important responsibility which he would try to discharge with his acumen earned during his service in the Army, State security agencies and State police.
He said that as Chairman he would try to be work in the transparent and honest manner keeping the high morality of the constitutional post. I would study the working of Commission before discharging my duties in cooperation with other four members of Commission also expected to assist him.
Secretary to Governor Rajesh Sharma conducted the oath ceremony.
Rameshwar Singh Thakur, resident of Jubberhati, Shimla, has been awarded the Clark R Bevin Law Enforcement Award, America’s prestigious award. He has been served in the Prime Minister’s Special Protection Force, SPG, for nine years. Received the President’s Police Medal in 2016.
He retired from the Indian Army as a Captain in 1990 before joining the Police in 1994. He has held the post of DIG in Himachal Police. Presently was serving as IG Intelligence. He was also releived from State police on Wednesday with notification of his elevation as top boss of public service commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here