Photo used for indicative purpose only. Source: Internet

Deputy Mayor Onkar Nehria to be new mayor of  Dharmshala MC
Deepali Jaswal & Punam Bali ,1st mayor of Mandi & Palampur MC 
Shimla, Apr 14

Former Deputy Mayor Onkar Nehria of BJP would be new Mayor of Dharmshala MC who was elected unanimously for this post. Congress Punam Bali elected as First Mayor of Palampur mc and Deepali Jaswal of BJP as first Mayor of Mandi MC. However the one of newly formed MC Solan, Mayor and deputy Mayor could not be elected today.
 The Municipal Corporation election held on party symbol concluded on April 7 today elected their mayor and Deputy mayor baring MC  Solan where due to short of quorum election of mayor elections were defered till Apr 16.
The post of Deputy mayor in Dharmshala MC was held by Sarv Chand Galotia who is a rebel candidate of BJP was elected as independent member. In direct election held  for post of Deputy Mayor on Tueday at Dharamshala he was elected as BJP supported Deputy Mayor got total 11 votes  against Cong supported candidate Davinder Jaggi only got six votes.
Unanimous election for Mayor or Deputy Mayor was held at Palampur for new MC in which Punam Bali became first Mayor  and Anish Nag as Deputy Mayor respectively, both of Congress. Anish Nag rode to this post on the virtue of his good luck as he fought the MC election after rejection of nomination papers of authorized Congress candidate,
In another unanimous election for newly constituted Mandi MC, BJP councillors Deepali Jaswal became first Mayor  and Virener Bhatt  as Deputy Mayor.
In the newly constituted Solan MC election for the top post could not be held due to shortage of quorum and election was deferred for Apr 16 .
The polling and result of Dharmshala, Palampur, Mandi and Solan MCs were conducted on April seven in which rulng BJP won Dharmshala and Mandi MC however opposition Congress Palampur and Solan.
Election for the state first Shimla MC is scheduled to be held by next year before the Assembly election however it is currently being run by the BJP, who are in majority here. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here