Photo used for indicative purpose only. Source: Internet
Shimla, Feb 11
Congress backed candidates have been elected Chairman and Vice Chairman for Shimla Zila Parishad Election held here at Bhachat bhavana today. Chander Prabhu Negi was elected Chairman of Shimla ZP for the second time. She won by a margin of six votes. Another Congress backed Surinder Raitka has been elected vice chairman for theĀ  second time consecutively.
In the contest for Chairman, Negi defeated Bharti Janartha backed by BJP. Similarily for Vice Chairman position Raikta defeated Madan Lal of BJP in direct fight of 24 wards. Negi is elected member from Tayal Jeori ZP ward Zila.
After the polling district Election officer (Panchayat) and Deputy Commissioner Shimla Aditya Negi Administrated oath to all ZP members and urged them to adopt pragmatic approach while discharging their duties and provide strength to the rural democratic frame work.
Election for the state three tier PRI Panchayat Raj System Election Including ZP was held on non party symbol however in Shimla district most of ZP and Panchayat Samiti wards remained denominated by Congress backed candidates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here